Monday, October 16, 2006

Sweeping the Legislature Aside in Missouri

Missouri's Supreme Court today upheld a lower courts ruling that the "Voter ID" initiative approved by both the legislative and executive branches was unconstitutional by creating a burden on voters (Ruling).

I thought (like others) that it would be interesting to look at the makeup of the court and who was governor when they were appointed:

Chief Justice Michael Wolff appointed 1998 by Mel Carnahan (D)
Justice Laura Stith appointed 2001 by Bob Holden (D)
Justice Richard Teitelman appointed 2002 by Bob Holden (D)
Justice Mary Russel appointed 2004 by Bob Holden (D)
Justice Ronnie White appointed 1995 by Mel Carnahan (D)
Justice Stephen Limbaugh, Jr. appointed 1992 by John Ashcroft (R)
Justice William Price Jr appointed 1992 by John Ashcroft but sat out of this case (haven't tracked down why yet) in favor of former Justice Charles Blackmar who was appointed by Christopher Bond (R) in 1982.

This was a 6-1 decision. The only dissenter was Stephen Limbaugh, Jr. (appointed by John Ashcroft (R)). So, every Democratic appointee along with a retired Republican appointee decided that IDs are bad for Democracy.

Only Ashcroft's appointee (Limbaugh, Jr.) has any sense.

And they say elections don't matter.

No comments: